Nominate a Transformational Principal for the 2020 Ryan Award

Nominate a Transformational Principal for the 2020 Ryan Award

Do you know a transformational K-12 principal who’s closing the achievement gap at their school?

If so, why not help them get the recognition they deserve by nominating them today for the 2020 Ryan Award?

Each year, Accelerate Institute presents the prestigious Ryan Award to two principals in a surprise ceremony at their school. Winners also receive a $25,000 honorarium and are invited to teach their successful strategies to other educators at the Accelerate Summer Institute in Chicago.

These are the stories of 2019 Ryan Award winners Joán Álvarez and Lindsey Robinson


To be considered for the Ryan Award, principals must meet the following criteria:

  • Has a proven track record of accelerating student achievement at their current school over the course of four or more years
  • School predominantly serves students of color (at least 80%)
  • At least 80% of students are eligible for free or reduced-price school lunch

Principals who lead any of a variety of K-12 schools—traditional public, charter and private—are welcome for consideration.

Learn more about the Ryan Award, and submit your nomination by Jan. 7, 2020